Pea Spread (BEST summer recipe, to date!)

July 19, 2009 § 8 Comments

peaspread4

If you’re a fan of hummus, or really any kind of thick spread, this recipe will be right up your alley.   I know fresh peas will take a little while to shell, but the flavor and texture are incomparable to the frozen, wrinkly variety in the freezer isle.  This recipe is so simple and I promise you, the outcome is out of this world!

Words of caution:
The first time I made this recipe, I thought a measly 3/4 of a cup of shelled peas, blended away, would last a couple of days, since I was making it just for me — maybe even a whole week if I portioned it out for my lunches.

It was gone in a day and a half, easy.  This week, I planned ahead: I just got back from the Union Square market with a gigantic bag of shelling peas.  We’ll see if I can make this dip last ’til Wednesday.

P.S. This recipe was inspired by and tweaked from Mark Bittman (heart throb).

peaspreadduet

Ingredients (serves 1-2):
3/4 cup shelled peas
8 leaves basil
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
1/8 teaspoons sea salt
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/3 cup roasted garlic skapes (about 10 skapes, chopped)

peaspread9

Methods:

1. Heat oven to 450 degrees.  Roast garlic scapes approximately 15 minutes minutes until fragrant, softened and slightly crispy around the edges.  Meanwhile, shell peas.

2.  Heat a small pot of boiling water and steam/boil peas about 2 minutes, until bright green and al dente.

3.  In a cuisanart/blender, whirl peas, roasted scapes, 8 basil leaves, a little sea salt and parmesan cheese.  If more liquid is needed, add a little water or olive oil.  I like my spreads to be a little chunky, so I didn’t blend into a thick puree.  If you prefer a smooth, more hummus-like spread, keep blending until it reaches desired consistency.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free, nut-free, SCD-safe*

*For those on the SCD-diet: If you haven’t introduced peas yet, do so a bit at a time and see how you feel.  The high starch content of peas can upset the stomach, so be mindful when just starting out.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Pea Spread (BEST summer recipe, to date!)

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pea Spread (BEST summer recipe, to date!) at Regina Rae.

meta