“6-week” Bran Muffins

September 3, 2008 § 4 Comments

These muffins are called “six week bran muffins” because rumor has it that you can keep the batter in a closed container (like a Tupperware) for up to 6 weeks and it won’t go bad.  I’ve always been amazed by that fact because there are eggs in this recipe, but maybe buttermilk works some kind of preservation magic.  Whatever the case, I’ve never had the batter last more than a week, so I’ve never worried about past-its-prime batter.   These muffins are extremely moist, flavorful and hearty.   I’ve experimented a lot and sampled a TON – muffins are my favorite breakfast treat! – and these guys, hands-down, are my absolute favorite!

Ingredients:
1 + 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3 cups “Kellog Bran Buds”
3 cups “Kellog All Bran”
2 + 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
2 + 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 cup boiling water
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 quart (two cups) buttermilk (lowfat is fine)

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease muffin tins.

2. Heat 1 cup of water on the stove. Meanwhile, measure bran or bran cereals in a large bowl.  When boiling, pour water over the 100% bran and set aside.

3. In a large bowl, cream sugar and oil.  Add eggs, buttermilk and then the soaked bran.

4.  In a separate bowl measure dry ingredients.  Sift or stir until thoroughly combined. Slowly add to liquids, stirring gently until just combined.  (Don’t over-mix.)

5. Spoon batter into muffin tins 3/4 of the way.  Cooking times will vary based on size of muffin tin.  For a medium-size muffin, bake approximately 20 minutes, until the sides are golden-brown and a knife comes out clean when inserted into the center.

Diet Notes: Nut-free

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to “6-week” Bran Muffins

  • Kathib says:

    I love your new banner and your new name! And this recipe looks wonderful. I’m making it soon! I still think you need to add lots of ‘tags’– if you’re not sure how let me know. Also, I think I can add you to my blogger site just by adding you to my blog roll– AND I believe that I can RSS feed you without doing anything either. If you look up at the url there is an rss feed symbol. I’ll try it and let you know. Then you’re right, it would be easy to check up without you having to email everyone. Keep ’em coming!

    K

  • toni says:

    Looks like another winning recipe to try! I think the RSS feed (see comment above) is working now. I was confused because you changed the name of the blog (I like this one better!) So I didn’t get notified of an update — but that’s because I registered your old blog name. Now if you stick with Garlic Press this might actually work! Keep em coming!

  • […] are THE BEST LIGHT AND FLUFFY muffins EVAAH!  My all time favorite muffin, the slightly denser 6-week Bran Muffin, is still at the top of my list, but I think this recipe might have nudged it’s way to the […]

  • […] As much as I love experimenting in my bright red kitchen apron, I consistently (and constantly) repeat my recipes.  I could tell you that I do this to tweak my recipes, aiming to achieve perfection!  But really, I just have trouble veering from course when I’ve had a good success.  Take muffins, for example: there is no breakfast-y food (apart from whole milk yogurt) that I love  more than muffins.  But how many muffins have stayed in my repertoire over the years?  TWO.  While I have experimented from time-to-time with other recipes, I always find myself reverting back to my dear old standbys. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “6-week” Bran Muffins at Regina Rae.

meta

