GUILT FREE Chewy Chocolate Oat Bars!

October 1, 2008 § 8 Comments

Whenever I zip off to a picnic, a birthday or want to bake a little something for a friend, this is my immediate go-to recipe.  These bars are not blondie-like (ie. not light and fluffy), but they’re denser from the whole wheat flour, oat bran, oats and a hefty few scoops of ground flax seeds.   They also keep wonderfully as leftovers and freeze and thaw perfectly.

Below I’ve included a recipe for 12 bars in one 8 x 8″ pan.  Note: I always triple the recipe so I don’t have any leftover sweetened condensed milk lurking on the top shelf of the fridge.  Also, when I triple the ingredients, I don’t quite triple the brown sugar — I decrease it by a half cup and never notice the difference.

Lastly, if you have a chocolate allergy (as a dear member of my family has) or prefer to forgo the chocolate, try exchanging it with peanut butter (or preferred nut butter) and melt it with the sweetened condensed milk.  I just made a PB batch last week and it was very good, too.  I used a little less PB than I would chocolate because of the strong flavor, but feel free to experiment.  For my single batch I would use 1/3 of a cup peanut butter; for a triple batch, 1 cup.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup oat bran
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons quick oatmeal (later measurement reserved)
1 heaping tablespoon ground flax seed
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons softened butter

Method:

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease an 8×8″ pan.  Mix dry ingredients: flour, bran, flax, oatmeal (except the 2 tablespoons), soda, powder and set aside.

2. In a separate bowl, mix wet ingredients: egg, oil, sugar and vanilla.  Combine with the dry minus the 2 tablespoons of oatmeal.  Reserve 1/3 cup of dough and set aside.  Press the rest of dough into greased pan.

3. In a double-boiler or on low heat, melt chocolate chips and sweetened condensed milk until mixture is smooth and completely melted.  Spread chocolate mixture over the dough.

4. Using reserved dough, mix in 2 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of oatmeal.  Mix with a fork until crumbly.  Drop small spoonfuls or crumble the mixture on top of the chocolate spread.

5.  Bake between 18-24 minutes until edges are golden.  Let set for at least 5 minutes.  These bars are wonderful at room temperature but my favorite after about 15 minutes of cooling, when they’re not too hot, but the middle layer is warm and gooey.

Diet Notes: Nut-free

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to GUILT FREE Chewy Chocolate Oat Bars!

  • Judi says:

    Wow. Just when I’m jonesing for chocolate, too! Another great recipe. You could write a book!

    🙂

  • Brooke says:

    those looook sooooooo goooooddd!!!!!! i think i might try to make them!

  • Kathi B says:

    You know, the only thing missing from this is a “print this recipe” button. I’m making these tonight. You’ve had me drooling for days now.

    Thanks Reggie.

  • toni says:

    Yes, I know I’m posting late. But I just made them tonight (needed something to get thru debate #3) and they are FABULOUS! No mods–I made them just as you directed, flax and all. I think this is my new favorite bar cookie.

  • katie says:

    These look really yummy reggie!!!!!! i am still waiting for those sloppy Joes you were speaking off on Saturday!!! OH YAHH and dont forget to post that chocolate cake we had. Have you tried my bread recipe yet??? i cant wait until you do, i promise you will love it and want to eat it everyday

  • Meg says:

    Regina! I made these (a triple-batch) right before Thanksgiving and they were fabulous!

  • […] DROOL-WORTHY news: this recipe is on par with the pea spread.  Frankly, it’s on par with decadent chewy chocolate oat bars, ballooning peach dutch baby pancakes and the most glorious, artery-clogging artichoke dip.  I […]

  • Meg says:

    WOW! I can’t believe I have not made these in over 2 years, but I am glad that I unearthed this recipe! Miraculously, I had (almost) all of the ingredients on hand, so now I have a 13×9 pan filled with a double batch of these tasty bars ready to be devoured! I hope all is well with you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading GUILT FREE Chewy Chocolate Oat Bars! at Regina Rae.

meta

