Traditional Peanut Butter Granola

October 21, 2008 § 3 Comments

A traditional, drier batch of nutty granola.

Ingredients:
4 tablespoons peanut butter, natural
2 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
6  tablespoons dark chocolate
1 + 3/4 cup quick oats
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup sliced almonds

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

2. In a small sauce pan, heat the peanut butter, olive oil, brown sugar, vanilla and dark chocolate.  Stir on a medium heat until melted.

3. Pour over the oats + wheat germ and mix.  Stir in sliced almonds.

4. Spread oat mixture on a baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes, stirring halfway through. Remove from oven when oats and almonds are slightly golden.  Leave on the counter for at least on hour to crisp-up and cool completely.

Diet Notes: Vegan

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Traditional Peanut Butter Granola

  • Kathi B says:

    Sounds pretty good, but a tad too unhealthy for me at breakfast. I will tell you, that I make my own granola too and use less sugar and less butter and no oil, no chocolate and no peanut butter!

    Mine has about 2 tbl of maragarine and I sprinkle a little honey over it. Sometimes I add cinnimon and always add both almonds and pecans. I have added vanilla at times and sometimes other seed things like sunflower seeds.

    I think the other difference is that I bake mine until brown, not just a little golden. Mine is also dry, but I like it that way. Great with plain yogurt or rice milk, or by the handful.

    As a snack, you can melt in chocolate chips. I like the idea of peanut butter though as a snack, might have to try it!

  • reginarae says:

    Heh heh. Yes, this recipe is definitely a far-cry from healthy. I would like to experiment with healthier recipes. I’ve been reading lots of good things about agave nectar recently… And I have nearly an entire bottle lurking in my cupboard. I might use that as a sugar substitute. I think I might try a “healthized” version next, and I’ll add more nuts, like you suggested!

  • […] the kitchen trying to create my favorite type.  While I liked the sesame granola, agave granola, peanut butter granola and my other taste-tests, something was a little off with each batch, and as soon as I finished up […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Traditional Peanut Butter Granola at Regina Rae.

meta

