Quick and Savory Cranberry Sauce

November 22, 2008 § Leave a comment

cranberrysauce2-1

I like desserts, but I’m not a big fan of super sweet syrupy foods.  I like my jams and sauces a little bit savory.  My Mom, on the other hand, likes to eat teaspoons of maple syrup straight from the jar!  But no matter your preference, this recipe is easily adaptable to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Ingredients:
12 oz. fresh cranberries
1/2 cup orange juice
1/2 cup water
1/3 – 1 cup honey (to taste)

cranberrysauce1-1

Directions:

1. Combine OJ and water into a large sauce pan.

2.  Add between 1/3 cup and 1 cup of honey.  (Note: I like my sauce almost sour, so I only used a 1/3 cup.  My Mom would probably want to use 3/4 – 1 cup.)

3.  Heat mixture on medium, stirring constantly until it comes to a boil.  Carefully add fresh cranberries. After a few minutes the cranberries will start popping.  Then they’ll shrink down and slowly the mixture will turn a brilliant shade of red.  Simmer, stirring occasionally.  After ten minutes, remove from stove and cool.  Once cranberry sauce cools completely, it will thicken.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free, SCD-safe, Nut-free

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quick and Savory Cranberry Sauce at Regina Rae.

meta

