Cilantro Pesto

December 5, 2008 § 6 Comments

cilantropesto2-11

Does “Cilantro Pesto” sound a little funky to you?  Well, it did to me, too!  Basil pesto my all time favorite food; why would I ever try to meddle with something that’s already perfect?  Well, two events coincided that prompted recipe experimenting: first, my aunt had some leftover cilantro from her CSA in Phoenix that she passed along to me.  Normally, I give any morsel of cilantro straight over to my mom and have her whip up the Best Salsa Of All Time.  But, it just so happened that a couple days ago I was flipping through a Mollie Katzen book and saw a few recipes for different herb pestos (other than basil).  I totally trust Mollie, so I thought: what the heck?

If I ever doubted Mollie (which I don’t believe I ever came close), I won’t dream of it now.  This is absolutely FANtastic!  This isn’t her recipe to a T, but similar.  I’ve since made it on noodles, sandwiches, and my fav: on a pizza instead of tomato sauce.  You’ve GOTTA try this one.  I promise, it won’t be regrettable.

Ingredients:

1 bunch cilantro
2-3 cloves of garlic
1/4 cup finely grated parmesan cheese
small handful (approx. 1/4 – 1/3 cup) walnuts
1/4 cup olive oil

Instructions:

1.  Trim stems off cilantro.  Dip bunch into a bowl of cool water and shake to rinse off any remaining dirt.

2. In a food processor or blender, blend all ingredients until it becomes a green paste.  If you prefer your pesto a little soupier, keep adding olive oil a tablespoon at a time.  I like my pesto thick to slather on small pieces of french bread, so I stuck to a quarter cup.  This recipe freezes and thaws wonderfully.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free, SCD-safe

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Cilantro Pesto

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cilantro Pesto at Regina Rae.

meta

