Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf

December 8, 2008 § 3 Comments

pumpkinchocolatechiploaf-1

Call this a bread if it eases your caloric conscience, but this “bread” is the most cake-like bread on the planet.

My Mom and I have made this recipe for eons (originally from “Purple Sage and Other Pleasures: a Savory Collection by the Tucson Junior League”), but today I did a little experiment and I like the new results.  I took out 1/2 cup of sugar and I made one of the loaves without chocolate to see how it would turn out.  Both were terrific.

Ingredients:
2 cups white flour
1 cup whole-wheat-white flour
2 + 1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon cloves
1 teaspoon allspice
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
2/3 cup water
2 cups pumpkin puree
3/4 – 1+1/2 cups chocolate chips*

*If you use large chips, chop them up a bit into smaller chunks before adding to this bread.  Large pieces will sink to the bottom and you’ll have a layer of chocolate goo that sticks to the pan.  It’s pretty delicious, but it makes for a lousy-looking bread.

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Grease and flour two 9 x 5 x 3” loaf pans.

2.  Mix together all wet ingredients + sugar.

3.  In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients. Measure chocolate chips and set aside.  Dust chocolate with a small handfull of the dry ingredients (to prevent sinking) and set aside.

4.  Combine wet and dry ingredients, folding and stirring until just combined.  Fold in chocolate.

5.  Bake for 1 hour and 10-15 minutes, until a knife comes out clean. IMPORTANT NOTE: Leave the loaves in their warm pan on a cooling rack for at least 30 minutes to set.  Before removing, take a knife and cut around the edges; use a spatula to help ease the bread out of the pan (particularly for the chocolate loaf).  I’ve had many half-bottom disasters by tossing the pan over too quickly.

pumpkinloafandmuffins-1(Photo above: Pumpkin Loaf (without chocolate) and some Fluffy Pumpkin Muffins!)

Diet Notes: Nut-free

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf

  • Kathib says:

    Question (clarification, really), you mention trying to go with less sugar. Does the recipe you posted have the sugar left out already or did you diminish it FROM this recipe? Just wanted to be sure that I followed it correctly.

    Thanks for clarifying.

    Kathi

    Whoops! I’m sorry, that wasn’t clear at all! The original recipe called for THREE cups of sugar — GEEZ! But I tried it with 2.5 and I couldn’t tell a difference. My friend Liza just told me that she made this recipe with 2 cups and it still tasted fabulous. I think next time I’ll try 2 cups, too. Love, Reggie

  • Kathib says:

    Made this and it was delicious. Really going to be one of my ‘repeat’ recipes. I used only 2 cups of sugar and did as you suggested, ran my dark chocolate thru the processor so it wouldn’t sink to the bottom.

    Served to a crowd of people and everyone thought it was great! 2 thumbs up, Reggie, thanks.

    Kathi

  • […] and grapefruit.  But next time I think I’ll serve it with some Fluffy Pumpkin Muffins or Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Load because I just found a huge can of pumpkin puree in our pantry!  I also really enjoy serving […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf at Regina Rae.

meta

