The Best Spinach Quiche I’ve Ever Had

December 27, 2008 § Leave a comment

spinachquiche4-1

With these ten ingredients and about 15 minutes prep-time, this recipe is the key to a scrumptious brunch.  I love all kinds of vegetarian quiches, but this recipe is hands down the best quiche I’ve ever had.

Quiche is such a versatile meal that you can serve with loads of different side dishes, plus you can eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!  Today I made a light brunch for my family.  I served this quiche with a side of Mustard Roasted Potatoes and grapefruit.  But next time I think I’ll serve it with some Fluffy Pumpkin Muffins or Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Load because I just found a huge can of pumpkin puree in our pantry!  I also really enjoy serving quiche with a large casserole pan of Fall Roasted Veggies (and root veggies are still in season).  And, if you live in the southwest and are lucky enough to have citrus in season during these winter months, serve with a tall glass of freshly squeezed OJ!

Ingredients:

4 eggs
2 cups cottage cheese (full fat or 2%)
1 cup Jarlsberg cheese, grated
1/2 cup cheddar cheese, grated
1/2 cup jack cheese, grated
6 scallions, chopped
1.5 cups spinach, cooked
2 cloves garlic
olive oil
pepper

Instructions:

1.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

2.  In a skillet, heat a little olive oil and add scallions.  Saute until the white part becomes slightly translucent.  Add spinach and garlic and cook an additional minute until heated through.  Meanwhile, prepare egg and cheese mixture.

3.  Add spinach + scallion mixture into the egg mixture.

4.  Grease a 10” quiche pan and add batter.

5. Bake approximately 50-55 minutes, or until center of quiche is firm.  I haven’t had a problem with this quiche bubbling over, but just in case, I always stick a large baking sheet on a lower level on the oven so if the egg mixture does boil over, it won’t land on the bottom of the oven.

spinachquiche3-1

Diet Notes: Nut-free, gluten-free

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Best Spinach Quiche I’ve Ever Had at Regina Rae.

meta

