Almond-Cashew Butter

March 23, 2009 § 2 Comments

almondcashewbutter7-1

Let me put this bluntly: I ADORE nut-butters.  I like cashew butter far better than I like cashews.  I like almond butter about as much as I like almonds.  I’ve never tried walnut butter, but toasted walnuts are my topping of choice for just about everything; I’m sure I’d like walnut butter.

After a quick perusal of my pantry this morning, I discovered two solitary bags of cashews and almonds.  I roasted them on a large sheet pan and blended them together into a mixed-nut butter and it just might be better than the sum of its respective parts!

Ingredients:
1 cup organic cashews, raw
1 cup organic almonds, raw

almondcashewbuttersextetDirections:

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and bake for 7-12 minutes until fragrant and slightly brown.

2. Remove nuts from oven and cool on counter top for a few minutes.  Add to food processor and blend.  First, the nuts will reduce to a fine powder (think: almond flour or cashew flour — great as a thickener or in gluten-free breads).  Soon, the nuts will start to form a ball that will roll around the Cuisinart a couple of times.  Keep blending.  After a minute or two, the ball will start to loose shape.  Keep whirring until the nut butter has essentially oozed to the bottom of the blending container; it should be smooth and stir-able.  Total blending time = approximately 5-7 minutes.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free, SCD-safe, vegan

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Almond-Cashew Butter

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Almond-Cashew Butter at Regina Rae.

meta

