Cabbage-Leek Pancake (“Japanese Pizza”)

April 2, 2009 § 1 Comment

japanesepizza7-1

Instead of tackling my mountainous pile of gen-ed busy work, I invariably read cooking blogs.  This week I spotted  “Japanese Pizza” on Heidi’s 101 Cookbooks.  I had a couple of eggs lying around and I’m game for any recipe that uses seasonal veggies like cabbage, so I gave it a shot.  This recipe is just like my Grandma’s latkes, but instead of using shredded potato, onion and matzo meal, this recipe calls for shredded cabbage, leek and flour.

Ingredients:
2 + 1/2 cups cabbage, shredded
2 leeks, chopped
2 eggs
sea salt, pepper
2/3 cup white whole-wheat flour
olive oil

japanesepizzaquartet

Methods:

1. Wash cabbage and peel off scraggly, outer layers.  Shred cabbage with a large knife.

2. Before washing, chop leeks.  Place chopped pieces in a bowl of cool water and separate rings.  Leeks are notorious for holding little bits of dirt between their layers; by cleaning them this way, the dirt falls to the bottom and the leeks float at the top; you can scoop out the clean leeks.

3.  In a large bowl, mix leeks and cabbage, flour and salt.  Crack two eggs in a separate bowl, whisk and combine.

4.  Heat a skillet with a few tablespoons of olive oil. Heat on medium-high until HOT.  Then add cabbage mixture in one big pizza.  (Alternatively, form into or a few smaller “latka like” pancakes.)   Cook for approximately 6-7 minutes on one side, until you can see the sides getting crispy and brown; then flip. Cook about 4-5 minutes on the other side.

Diet Notes: nut-free

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Cabbage-Leek Pancake (“Japanese Pizza”)

  • Meg says:

    Regina! These are soooo tasty! I was about to go figure out dinner when I went to your blog and found this….I just happened to have cabbage, no leeks though so I just used 1/2 an onion….so I just whipped it up and ate it for dinner:) thank you thank YOU! (I was wondering what to do with that cabbage….)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cabbage-Leek Pancake (“Japanese Pizza”) at Regina Rae.

meta

