Bomb Biscuits (your seven year-old can make!)

June 10, 2009 § 3 Comments

chels_sundaybrunch2

I remember singing biscuit praises on this blog a few months back — I croon over any opportunity to whip up a batch.  As I see it, with biscuits, you just can’t go wrong: they’re fluffy, soft, melt-in-your-mouth, they require cheap ingredients, they make the house smell good, and they’re absolutely excellent with any kind of shmear on hand: preserves, warm honey, plain out of the oven, drizzles of maple syrup, spoonfuls of your favorite nut-butters, or seasonal delicacies like rhubarb spread (above: see the back pot on the stove).

I made this batch of biscuits last Sunday after an epic exploration of a nearby NYC park.  I came back ravenous and sat down to eat in no-time.  These biscuits took a mere 20 minutes to throw together, from the time I pulled the flour and baking powder off the shelves, to when I pulled out my chair and popped one of those blobby, bottom-crisped rolls onto my plate!

This is the easiest biscuit recipe I have and it’s totally fool-proof.  I’ve made it dozens of times a year since I was seven.  I think it originated from a Betty Crocker book that I found on my Grandma’s shelf one summer.

On occasion, for a heartier biscuit, I have substituted half the flour for whole wheat (a few times I’ve used all whole wheat).  Whole-wheat flour will make these guys denser, less fluffy and more chewy.  If you’re into that, go with some whole wheat flour — it’s excellent with a generous spoonful of thick honey.  But I have a soft spot for the fluffy, all-white kind.  To me, nothing beats it.

Ingredients:
2 cups white flour
3 teaspoons aluminum-free baking powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2/3 cup almond milk (or milk alternative)

Methods:

1.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Grease a baking sheet and set aside.

2.  Combine dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl and fork/whisk.  Set aside.

3.  In a separate bowl, combine liquid ingredients.  Whisk until incorporated.  Slowly add dry ingredients to the liquids, stirring gently.  The dough should be a bit sticky; depending on the humidity, you may not need to add in all the flour.

4. Bake 8-10 minutes, when biscuits are golden on the top, edges, and the bottom is golden-brown.  Best eaten the day-of.

Diet Notes: Nut-free, vegan

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Bomb Biscuits (your seven year-old can make!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bomb Biscuits (your seven year-old can make!) at Regina Rae.

meta

