Basil Ricotta Shmear

August 13, 2009 § 1 Comment

ricottaspread
Yesterday I clamored up to the 5th floor, opened my bedroom door and, as I peeled my backpack from my shoulders and kicked off my shoes, I glanced at the thermometer: 90 degrees.  Living in weather like this – where the humidity is so high you feel like you could spoon away at it with an ice cream scoop – I shudder at the thought of turning on the gas stove.  It’s just too hot.

Now, to be perfectly honest, sometimes I forgo all cooking and resort to eating ice cream, globs of chunky peanut butter and chocolate chips directly in front of the rumbling AC box (see: my yesterday).  But other times I shoot for a more wholesome meal.  This past weekend, my friend Allison and I hit the jackpot.

Allison and I ate this spread on pasta and vegetables and in a frittata or scrambled eggs.  Our favorite was when we shmeared it on a crusty baguette topped with fresh greens, halved heirloom cherry tomatoes, a couple sprigs of basil (leftovers) and paired it with a small mound of my leftover quick-pickles.   We even towed it down to the Promenade at sunset in our picnic basket.  This recipe’s a keeper.

Ingredients:
2 cups ricotta, full-fat
1/2 cup basil, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup chives, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
pepper, to taste

Methods:

Chop basil, chives and garlic.  Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and chill until ready to serve.

aug7_promenadepicnic6

 

Diet Notes: Gluten-free, nut-free

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Basil Ricotta Shmear

  • hi Regina, i stumbled upon your blog a few weeks ago and have really enjoyed it. which is rather odd because i don’t cook. almost never. my husband does, but is not terribly creative. meanwhile, i do love to grow food and just harvested about 10 lovely leeks but haven’t a CLUE what to do with them. i know my husband won’t figure out what to do with them, so i thought i’d ask you … any ideas?

    cheers,
    mj

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Basil Ricotta Shmear at Regina Rae.

meta

