Kicked up a notch: Winter Citrus Salad

March 15, 2010 § 1 Comment

Before spring arrives carrying oven-gusts of strawberry clafoutis and lazy asparagus munching, I want to give a jolly wave or two to our citrus trees.  They’ve kept me pumped with Vitamin C and fruity breakfasts all winter long.  (Not to mention buzzed from sugar overloads thanks to 8 batches of chocolate-dipped candied grapefruit and orange peels!)

Here is a savory fruit salad – a salad, I like to say, that’s kicked up a notch.  The base of this dish is sweet and sour from any citrus you have on hand, and it’s speckled with toppings that make every forkful a mix of flavors – peppery, sharp, fruity, syrupy, and so on.  Mark Bittman – per usual – has a hysterical video that, in addition to providing plenty of chuckles, demonstrates how to peel away citrus peels (it’s a cinch!) and create the “wheels” you see in the above photograph.

Ordinarily, I love grapefruit the boring way – cut down the equator, carved out with a steak knife, eaten with a spoon.  But my cooking comrade – my pal, Meghan – told me I couldn’t let winter pass me by without taking a stab at this salad.  I used the ingredients I had on hand – balsamic vinegar instead of sherry; I didn’t use the honey, but added a bit of a fruitier olive oil instead; no tarragon in my herb garden so I left it out…  But despite my tweaks, the essence of this sweet/savory salad came through.   Guys, Meghan is right-on – I’ve been eating variations of this salad every week since!  Give this salad a try (with your own variations) before spring asparagus send us into a tizzy of fritattas and green soups.  This lip-smacking salad will help us relish these final few chilly weeks!

Ingredients (for one or two):
1 ruby red grapefruit
1 orange
1 small shallot
2 teaspoons good balsamic vinegar*
2 teaspoons fruity olive oil
1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
several cracks of fresh pepper

*For those on the SCD-diet, make sure the vinegar has no added sugar and has been aged 18+ years.

Methods:

1.  Cut the top and bottom part off of each citrus and slice away the edges with a sharp knife, removing as much pith (the bitter, white stuff) as possible.  Slice into “wheels” and arrange on a plate, overlapping different varieties of fruit.

2.  Sprinkle with salt, pepper, shallot, olive oil, vinegar and any herbs to your liking.  Enjoy at room temperature with a squirt of honey, if you like.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free, vegan, nut-free, SCD-safe (see asterisk)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Kicked up a notch: Winter Citrus Salad

  • Kate Logan says:

    Regina! I love the looks of this recipe. I make a very similar version with kalamata olives and red onions. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kicked up a notch: Winter Citrus Salad at Regina Rae.

meta

