Southwest Cilantro & Lime Black Bean Salad

June 7, 2010 § 1 Comment

A few months ago I over-zealously planted seven tomato plants in my backyard.  Now, thanks to the scorching, 100+ degree temperatures, I have tomatoes overflowing from giant serving bowls on the counter-top.  I eat cherry tomatoes by the handful for mid-morning, mid-afternoon and before-bed snacks.  Today I diced four beefy ones that I’d picked yesterday and I naively thought I’d made a dent… only to walk outside and pick five more and discover seven others on the verge of ripeness.  (I think it’s time for gazpacho!)

In the meantime, I’ve been digging into some fantastic salads.  Today I made tabbouleh with (gobs of) tomatoes, lemon, mint, parsley and red onion – all growing right out my backdoor!  (I love this way of living!)  A few days ago I whipped up this bean salad (photo above, recipe below) for a light lunch.  It’s an old family standby: A chunky mix of beans, corn, vegetables and creamy slices of avocado, bound together in a cilantro + basil + lime dressing.  It’s zingy, fresh and extremely addicting.  But I have one small concession: its shelf-life is short.  It’s best eaten the day-of (although it can make it to day two after a chilly, overnight rest in the fridge).  And it’s perfect at room temperature.  It can be a side dish or main dish, and is a great addition to picnics and potlucks.  I like serving it as a main dish with tortilla chips or pan-heated corn tortillas.

Ingredients:
3 medium-sized tomatoes, chopped
1/3 cup chopped scallion, shallot or early onion (including the green part)
2 cups black beans, cooked
2 cups corn
1/4 cup basil, chopped
1/3 cup cilantro, chopped
2 avocados, chopped
4 tablespoons fresh lime juice (approximately 2-3 limes)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 + teaspoon sea salt
1/4 + teaspoon pepper, freshly ground
1/2 – 1 teaspoon evaporated cane sugar, to taste

Methods:

Chop vegetables and herbs; set aside.   Squeeze limes and reserve juice in a bowl.  Slice avocado and to prevent discoloration, immediately toss in lime juice.  In a large bowl, combine beans, corn, herbs and vegetables.  Gently toss and add avocado + lime, a bit of olive oil, sea salt, evaporated cane sugar and pepper to taste.  Serve at room temperature.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free, vegan, nut-free

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Southwest Cilantro & Lime Black Bean Salad

  • Kathi says:

    Excellent salad. Very similar to the Confetti Salad from the Cancer Project (missing frozen peas and brown rice). Really tasty though.

    Kathi

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Southwest Cilantro & Lime Black Bean Salad at Regina Rae.

meta

