Quinoa Tabouleh

August 4, 2010 § 1 Comment

For the past six weeks, I can count the number of vegetables I’ve consumed on five fingers.  (I’m cheating: The “fifth vegetable” is really an herb — called “chipilin” (apparently similar to a Night Shade).)  Instead, I’ve been eating bread (“pan”), bananas ’round the clock and a few corn tortillas and cup or two of hot chocolate.

If you guessed that I had a parasite… dingding!  You win! My meal prospects were bleak for a while; in fact, I actually started dreaming of vegetables in my sleep (no joke!) and, now that I’m feeling nearly all better, I have a new found love of eating simple, fresh foods.  This recipe was just what the doctor ordered: vegetables from the garden (parsley! mint! tomatoes! onion!) and a whole-grain base.  This salad is light and made me feel squeaky clean from the burst of lemon.  And an added plus: it didn’t bump the house temperature up eight degrees by turning on the oven — it’s a one pot meal, requiring only 15 minutes of stove time.

Ingredients:
1 cup quinoa, cooked
3 tomatoes, chopped
1 cucumber, chopped
1/2 red onion, diced
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
1/4 cup mint, chopped

4 tablespoons lemon (juice of 1 lemon)
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 garlic cloves, diced
sea salt, pepper, to taste

Method:

1.  Heat water and quinoa on the stove and cook according to instructions, until al dente.

2.  Chop vegetables and herbs and toss.  Set aside.

3.  Once quinoa is cooked, remove lid and squeeze in juice of one lemon, olive oil and chopped garlic.  Stir.  Combine with vegetables and herbs.  Add sea salt and pepper to taste and serve warm, at room temperature or chilled.  (Room temperature is my favorite.)

Diet Notes: Gluten-free, nut-free, vegan

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Quinoa Tabouleh

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quinoa Tabouleh at Regina Rae.

meta

