Good for the Heart & Soul: Pumpkin Spice Latte

December 18, 2010 § 3 Comments


A few days ago I putzed around a nearby market, ambling in and out of the bulk bin aisles.  Each time I turned the corner, I noticed another stack of canned, organic, pureed pumpkin on sale — above the roasted almonds, next to the tamari-flavored pepitas, underneath the bins of flaky nutritional yeast and clumpy falafel mix.  Pumpkin pies, breads and muffins are on their way out; eggnog, citrus-anythings and biscotti are on their way in.  While I wholeheartedly embrace these sweet, seasonal additions, I’m not quite ready to give up my favorite pumpkin recipe.  A few weeks ago I caroled and crooned over morning mochas.  This piping hot, pumpkin beverage is on par with it’s chocolate-y counterpart.  A few times a week, I fill up my leaky travel mug and perfume my little office with smells of pumpkin and cinnamon.  My shelves are now stockpiled with pumpkin puree and I just refilled my mini, glass jars of autumn spices.

Ingredients (serves 1 large or 2 small cups):
1 cup almond milk (plain)
1/2 cup coffee, strongly brewed
1 tablespoon pumpkin puree
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon pumpkin butter*
1/2 teaspoon honey (or more, to taste)**

*I use Trader Joe’s (it’s my favorite!) but you can also make your own.

**If following a vegan diet, swap honey with maple syrup.

Method:

1. Prepare coffee.  My method, using a french press: Place 2-3 tablespoons of ground coffee beans in the bottom of the glass jar and heat water on the stove until boiling.  Remove boiling water from heat and let cool for just a moment (so it stops bubbling), then pour water into french press and steep 4 minutes.

2.  Meanwhile, combine almond milk, pumpkin puree, spices and pumpkin butter in a small saucepan on the stove.  Heat on medium-high heat and whisk, on-and-off, as the liquid begins to heat.  When the coffee is prepared, pour into the almond milk mixture and continue whisking.

3.  Stop whisking when bubbles start to appear around the edges of the pan (don’t bring the whole mixture to a boil).  Take a quick taste.  If too bitter for your preference, add a half teaspoon of honey and whisk until combined.  Serves two small or one generous portion.

Diet Notes: gluten-free, vegan (see asterisk)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Good for the Heart & Soul: Pumpkin Spice Latte

  • Babygirl says:

    This sounds delish

  • RJ says:

    Sounds better than butterbeer. 🙂

    Also: I pour my boiling hot water straightaway into my travel mug, then pour it into the french press. That way-

    1. The water has stopped boiling by the time it gets to my french press, and

    2. My mug is now warmed! 🙂

  • meghan says:

    I’m one of the California cousins who has been reading and enjoying but not commenting on your blog, until now 🙂 I love it! You are so creative. So I tried this recipe with peppermint tea instead of coffee. I also didn’t have any pumpkin butter but it was still yummy… next time I’ll make sure to have some at the ready just for this recipe!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good for the Heart & Soul: Pumpkin Spice Latte at Regina Rae.

meta

