Oaty, Banana-Hunk Muffins with Buttermilk

May 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

You may raise an eyebrow, or roll an eyeball, when you see another gluten-free recipe coming from this bread-loving-carb-queen.  I’ve been hesitant to write personal jibber-jabber, but I think I’ll address one bit of drama, to answer any Qs from the eyeball/brow-crowd:

About a year ago, when I studied in Xela, Guatemala, I got some stomach parasites (or as my teacher Lesvia took to calling them, my “mascotas y bebes” — my pets and babies — leaving a smattering of eavesdropping students with the impression that I was pregnant and had lots of stray dogs).  Upon my return to the States, I took a rainbow of different medicines to try to get my stomach back in order.  The long in short: I’m still popping antibiotic pills, but heavens I do feel much better.  To help my stomach get “back on its feet,” my doc told me I might want to try to cut out gluten as well as sugar alcohols (found in boatloads of chocolate – sniff!).  While I’m not feeling tip-top, I’m on the mend, I think, and getting stronger.  I have rekindled my enthusiasm for baking (and eating!) and I’m mindful, perhaps borderline obsessive, about taking care of myself.  This past year I spent a lot of months sipping soda under a blanket on the sofa and now, I like to think I’m making up for lost time.

So, for a while, you might see a new type of recipe — many recipes without gluten, but ones that also show off some kick-tush grains that are equally, if not more tasty than their gluten-toting counterparts.  This muffin recipe has been tested by many (who didn’t know they were eating a muffin with an array of odd-ball flours).  The verdict: They’re wholesome, slightly sweet and, incredibly, wonderfully fluffy with great flavor.  My friend Regina (I’m not speaking of myself in the 3rd) says they’re enjoyed best with an afternoon coffee, sipped and chewed in the sun.

Ingredients:
3/4 cup buttermilk (low fat is fine)
1 cup rolled oats

1 large banana, mashed (about 2/3 cup)
1/3 cup agave nectar
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup olive oil

1/3 cup millet flour
1/3 cup oat flour
1/3 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup teff flour

2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. xanthan gum
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves, nutmeg, all spice
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Method:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease muffin tin.

2. Mix oats and buttermilk and set aside for a few minutes while preparing the rest of the liquid ingredients.  In a separate bowl, mash banana, mix with beaten eggs, vanilla and olive oil. Combine with oats and stir until combined.

3.  In a separate bowl, prepare dry ingredients.  Toss with a fork.  Slowly mix into liquids and stir until just incorporated.  Scoop into muffin tins 3/4 of the way (they’ll rise slightly) and bake until the knife comes out clean (between 16-20 minutes).  Note: If reserving some batter to bake the following day, like most muffin batters, the consistency will thicken.  Reconstitute with two to three tablespoons of buttermilk (or another milk you have handy) before baking.

4.  Once baked, leave muffins in tin for 5-7 minutes.  With a dull knife, scrape along edges and carefully remove from the pan.  They freeze and thaw wonderfully.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oaty, Banana-Hunk Muffins with Buttermilk at Regina Rae.

meta

