Dried Fruit Trio Granola Bars

May 30, 2011 § 4 Comments

When it comes to grab-and-go snacks, I’m positively addicted to salted peanuts & brazil nuts plus a few banana chips.  But after overdosing on a shockingly large freezer bag of the above blend on a recent road trip, I’ve decided to cool off on the ‘nana-crunch snack attacks and instead, create a fantastic bar that offers additional nutritional benefits.

Through my recipe tweaking I’ve learned the following: Substituting OJ for water does not yield good results.  Honey can be used as a substitute for agave nectar; however, the agave makes a sweeter bar, which is a good thing in my book, and better chew.  Have fun fiddling with the dried fruits. Everyone agrees, the dates are a MUST.  Dried figs are also exceptionally good.  I’ve tried a couple different kinds of nuts, but pecans (shelled from my aunt and uncle’s tree!) were the clear favorite.

Ingredients:
1 + 1/4 cups dried fruit (favorites: dried peach, date and orange-hinted cranberries)
3/4 cup pecans, chopped
1 + 1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup buckwheat groats
2 tablespoons flax meal
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons teff flour
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

2 eggs
2 tablespoons orange juice
1/3 cup agave nectar

Method:

1.  Preheat oven to 325 on convection (or 350 in a standard oven.)  Grease a 9 x 13″ baking pan.

2.  Chop dried fruit and pecans.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, begin adding dry ingredients.  (HELPFUL HINT: While doling out teff flour, sprinkle some of the measured amount directly onto the dried fruit and nuts and toss with hands.  This will prevent the dates, peaches and cranberries from clumping and sticking into a large mass.)

3. Once all the dry ingredients are assembled, set aside.  In a separate bowl, whisk wet ingredients.  Combine with dry and stir until completely incorporated and all oats are coated.  Spread in greased baking pan.  (HELPFUL HINT: Dab the tips of fingers with water and press oats into pan; this will prevent stickage.) 

4.  Bake until golden and slightly browned on surface, about 18 minutes.  Let cool in the pan for at least 15 minutes before slicing and removing.

These granola bars stay chewy on the counter for several days, but also freeze and thaw very well.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Dried Fruit Trio Granola Bars

  • Kathi Baldwin says:

    I made these and they were great. I used wheat flour (didn’t know what teff flour was) and admit that I threw in a handful of dark chocolate chips. I also used apricot and a mix of cherry/blueberries for my dried fruit. I used Kasha for my groats, finally figured out that Red Mill’s was as close the the real thing as I was going to get!

    Anyway, long story short– these bars are delicious!! Gobbled them up.

    Kathi

  • Kate says:

    These look delicious, Reg! I will definitely give them a go when I’m back in Tucson. And can we please eat that roasted cherry tomato-mango salad together sometime?

  • Meghan says:

    I’m so excited to try these Regina!

  • Amy says:

    Yum, these look good! I think I’ll make them for a camping snack for this weekend 🙂 . Do you mean subbing water for the OJ doesn’t yield good results, though?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dried Fruit Trio Granola Bars at Regina Rae.

meta

