MAKE THIS PRONTO: Tangy Cabbage, Avocado & Basil Slaw

March 10, 2012 § 4 Comments

My mom claims that this salad is how I’m going to make my first million.  (Bless her.)  This slaw is creamy, crunchy, tangy and a little sweet from the basil and avocado.  I’ve made multiple batches of it this week so that at any time of day, a forkful is mere seconds away.  That’s right: even the slaw leftovers are good (not gloppy).  Give it a try.  I’ve never been so emphatic about a brassica recipe in my life.  In fact, it actually takes the cake — literally. I ate a second helping of this cabbage salad instead of a chocolate coconut muffin, hot outta the oven.  (Recipe coming.)  Now that’s sayin’ something.

Ingredients:
6 cups cabbage, shredded
2 avocados, sliced
1/2 cup basil, ripped
1/2 cup scallions, chopped
salt

1/4 cup tahini
1/4 cup plain kefir (or tangy, sharp yogurt)
2-3 tablespoons lime juice
1 large clove garlic, minced
salt, to taste

Method:

1. Cut cabbage into thin strips.  Place in a large bowl and salt lightly.  Toss and set aside.

2.  In a separate bowl, prepare the dressing.  Whisk until thoroughly incorporated.  Taste and adjust lime juice and salt as needed.

3. Chop scallions and rip basil.  Toss with cabbage.  Slice avocados and dunk in the dressing (to prevent browning).  Drizzle dressing and avocados over cabbage.  Toss carefully until cabbage is coated.  Eat immediately or chill until serving.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free, nut-free, SCD-safe

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to MAKE THIS PRONTO: Tangy Cabbage, Avocado & Basil Slaw

  • Lori says:

    Best salad EVER! The combination of fresh, crunchy cabbage with soft avocado, along with the tangy dressing — just brilliant! (Kefir? Have no idea what it is, but it’s sure tasty in this dressing. I wouldn’t change a thing!) And you concocted this recipe from leftovers in the refrigerator?? Amazing!
    Mom

  • Priya says:

    so excited to try this!!

  • Kathi says:

    This was a terrific recipe. I made it for company, who requested the recipe from me. Definitely will make this again, soon. I think the dressing could be poured over fettuccine, or over vegetables and sauteed. I think what I am saying is, I could drink it!

    Well done Regina and thanks for a WINNER!!! Loved it.

  • Megan says:

    I just made this with some leftover red cabbage and it was a hit. Yum. I, too, could drink this dressing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading MAKE THIS PRONTO: Tangy Cabbage, Avocado & Basil Slaw at Regina Rae.

meta

