(KILLAH!) CLUMPY Granola (Gluten-Free)

January 23, 2010 § 9 Comments

After dozens of granola trials – four of them bookmarked on this blog – this recipe has squeaked into the 1st Place slot. The flavor of each granola batch has been good – great even – but, up until this recipe, my ratio of honey + peanut butter to oats didn’t yield clumps!  Three weeks ago I decided to go back to the basics: I wanted a simple granola with just oats and nuts (no sesame seeds, pepitas, dried apricots, dried blueberries or dates).  I wanted a peanut flavor (no sesame) and I wanted CLUMPS.

Let’s cut to the chase: I’m sick of tasteless foods that tout low-cal, low-fat nutrition facts!  In nutshell, I’m going for quality, not quantity.  The solution to achieving good flavor & crunch was simple: scale back on the oats, add an extra dollop of peanut butter and honey.  The only slight eyebrow-raiser on the ingredient list is the olive oil.  Maybe I’m being a bit stuffy about this addition, but I still maintain that olive oil in granola is nine times more flavorful than vegetable oil.  Give it a shot!  And relish the CLUMPS!

Ingredients:
4 cups rolled oats*
1.5 cups mixed nuts, lightly salted (this is key!)
1/2 cup honey
heaping 1/3 cup chunky, natural peanut butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 – 1 tsp. sea salt, to taste

*For gluten-sensitive, purchase oats that have been produced in a wheat-free facility to avoid cross-contamination.

Methods:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Chop lightly-salted nuts into chunks.  Combine with oats.  In a small saucepan, melt peanut butter, honey and olive oil until honey has thinned and the mixture is liquidy.  Pour liquid on top of oats + nuts.  Stir and thoroughly coat.  Layer on a baking sheet and bake 12-16 minutes until granola turns golden-brown.  Remove from oven or, alternatively, turn heat off and open the oven door to let the granola dry-out.  Let granola completely cool.  Break into pieces and store in an air-tight container.  Granola will keep over a month.

Diet Notes: Gluten-free

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to (KILLAH!) CLUMPY Granola (Gluten-Free)

  • Jay says:

    Regina,
    have any great granola recipes sans peanut butter? I know someone who has been looking for a great one! Thanks!

  • Allison says:

    Regina,
    This granola is delicious! I made it just this morning and have been snacking on it ever since. I wasn’t sure about the olive oil (I tried the granola pre-cooking and the OO flavor was pretty strong) but you really can’t taste it after it’s been cooked. I also sprinkled some flax seed and wheat germ on top before putting it in the oven because I forgot to mix it in before, and it worked really well and still tasted great!

  • This is definitely a recipe that I would like to try out. I have found a granola recipe that I would like to keep just yet, but this might just be the winner. Especially since it has peanut butter!

  • […] two batches of granola before with different recipes, but those two has nothing on Regina Rae’s (KILLAH!) Clumpy Granola. This granola is by far the tastiest that I’ve made or eaten. The best part of this granola is […]

  • Regina says:

    REGINA!!
    I just made a batch of this granola and it’s DELICIOUS. And it made my house smell glorious. Thank you for such wonderful recipes!
    xoxox,
    Regina 2

  • […] the past two months I’ve been tweaking an old favorite clumpy granola recipe.  Instead of aiming for just clumps, I wanted to create a granola with great […]

  • […] of citrus zest.  While I’ve posted a couple granola recipes on this blog (lest we forget the clumpy granola addiction of 2010) — this one shies away from nut butters and embraces a sweeter, lighter ingredient list. […]

  • Excellent site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find good quality writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  • I just wanted to say that I LOVE this granola recipe. I make 4 recipes’ worth at a time and it usually lasts in my house for about a month. Definitely a breakfast staple!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading (KILLAH!) CLUMPY Granola (Gluten-Free) at Regina Rae.

meta